Yummy Recipes :)

So I have been doing a little baking lately and have found and changed a few recipes that are SOOO yummy! Many of you have been asking for the recipes and so here they are 🙂

First are Banana, Zucchini, and Chocolate chip muffins!!
I had been using this recipe from Simply Recipes for a while now to make banana bread.

Banana Bread Recipe

  • Prep time: 5 minutes
  • Cook time: 1 hour

Ingredients

  • 3 or 4 ripe bananas, smashed
  • 1/3 cup melted butter
  • 1 cup sugar (can easily reduce to 3/4 cup)
  • 1 egg, beaten
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • Pinch of salt
  • 1 1/2 cups of all-purpose flour

Method

No need for a mixer for this recipe. Preheat the oven to 350°F (175°C). With a wooden spoon, mix butter into the mashed bananas in a large mixing bowl. Mix in the sugar, egg, and vanilla. Sprinkle the baking soda and salt over the mixture and mix in. Add the flour last, mix. Pour mixture into a buttered 4×8 inch loaf pan. Bake for 1 hour. Cool on a rack. Remove from pan and slice to serve.

Yield: Makes one loaf.

So that is the basic recipe! Well a few weeks ago I had a lot of extra zucchini from the farmers market and was not sure what I was going to do with it. I thought about it and decided to make zucchini bread. When I got home from work I realized I also had several bananas that needed to be made into bread. Then the brilliant idea of making one loaf with both ingredients flew into my brain! Ha, mostly because I did not want to have to make 2 different types of bread and have lots of dirty dishes.
Well that bread turned out amazing, and I was able to share it with a few friends who also thought it was very tasty.

So a few days ago, I once again had more zucchini and bananas to use and I was going to make more bread. Well this time I also saw on the side of a Chobani container a way to cut the oil out of recipes. Instead of 1/3 cup oil, I used ¼ cup of the Chobani Chocolate Chunk Yogurt. I am sure that any greet yogurt would do 🙂

So this is the recipe I used instead of the plain banana bread one listed above (which still makes amazing banana bread!)

I stared adding zucchini into the mix and last night added some dark chocolate! So yummy and only 70 calories a pop.

Banana Bread Recipe
Prep time: 5 minutes
Cook time: 1 hour for a loaf or 25-30 min for muffins.

INGREDIENTS
3 or 4 ripe bananas, smashed
1/3 cup melted butter (I substituted this for 1/4 cup of Chobani yogurt. Use plain or the chocolate chunk)
1 cup sugar (can easily reduce to 1/2 to 3/4 cup. I only used ½ a cup and I might even cut it down more next time, especially with the chocolate chips and the chocolate chunk yogurt.)
1 egg, beaten
1 teaspoon vanilla
1 teaspoon baking soda
Pinch of salt
1 1/2 cups of all-purpose flour (I use Trader Joes multigrain baking mix or almond flour)

METHOD
No need for a mixer for this recipe. Preheat the oven to 350°F (175°C). With a wooden spoon, mix butter (or yogurt) into the mashed bananas in a large mixing bowl. Mix in the sugar, egg, and vanilla. Sprinkle the baking soda and salt over the mixture and mix in.
(This is where I add 3 chopped zucchini 1/4 chopped dark chocolate chips)
Add the flour last, mix.

Pour mixture into a buttered 4×8 inch loaf pan or 2, 12 space muffin pans. Bake for 1 hour for the loaf or 25-30 min for the muffins.
Cool on a rack. Remove from pan and slice to serve.

Yield: Makes one loaf or 24 muffinsIMG_6877

IMG_6871

And the other amazing recipe some of you have heard me talking about are Flour-less Zucchini Brownies!! I found the recipe over at Delighted Momma. I pretty much follow the exact recipe, but I might use a different type of nut butter.

What you will need:

  • 1 cup of almond butter. You can make your own if you want to save a few bucks.
  • 1 1/2 cup of grated or chopped zucchini. I used a shredder and then chopped it up into really small pieces.
  • 1/3 cup of raw honey
  • 1 egg
  • 1 tsp of vanilla
  • 1 tsp of baking soda
  • 1 tsp of cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp of nutmeg
  • 1 cup of dark chocolate chips. I used gluten free chocolate chips.

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
  2. Combine all the ingredients into a large bowl and mix everything together.
  3. Pour into a greased 9×9 baking pan.
  4. Bake for 35-45 minutes, or until a toothpick comes out clean.

IMG_5863IMG_5867 IMG_5868IMG_5869

Well that is all!  Happy baking 🙂

~Esther~

By Pink and Purple Lemonade

2 comments on “Yummy Recipes :)

Leave a Reply

